Drivers in New York must have a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. If you experience injuries in an accident caused by another driver, you can file a claim with his or her insurance policy.
Review the New York auto insurance requirements and learn how to pursue compensation after a serious car accident.
Understanding minimum insurance requirements
You must have auto liability insurance that covers at least:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for all injuries in a single accident
- $10,000 for property damage in a single accident
You must also have a no-fault coverage policy of up to $50,000. This type of policy covers the cost of any personal injuries that occur in an accident regardless of fault.
New York also requires uninsured motorist coverage. You must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, which covers injuries to you or your passengers caused by a driver without sufficient insurance.
Seeking compensation for injuries
Because New York is a no-fault state, you first file a claim with your own insurance company. You can bring a claim against a driver who caused the accident only in the case of serious injury, defined by state law as:
- Any injury causing total disability for at least 90 days
- Significant temporary limitation or loss of a body system or function
- Permanent limitation or loss of a body system or function
- Broken bones
- Serious disfigurement
If your auto accident injury qualifies for further compensation, you must file a legal claim within three years of the accident date.